This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
News & Press: LATEST NEWS

Faces of the Force

Monday, March 30, 2020   (0 Comments)

By Staff Writer  |  April 1, 2020  |  Air Force Magazine


An AC-130U Spooky aircrew from the 4th Special Operations Squadron received 14 medals for their roles in providing more than nine hours of air support, enabling the rescue of 15 patients during a mass casualty evacuation on an April 2019 mission in Afghanistan. “The most lethal part of the gunship is the crew,” said Air Force Special Operations Command boss Lt. Gen. Jim Slife. Aircraft commander Capt. Neils Aberhalden and navigator Capt. John Crandall Jr. received DFCs with a “C” (for combat) device, and Air Medals were awarded to fire control officer Capt. Micah Uvegas; co-pilot Capt. Brian Yee; electronic warfare officer 1st Lt. Nicholas Maiolo; flight engineer Tech. Sgt. Jacob Griffen; direct support operator Staff Sgt. Jonathon Friesz; aerial gunners Tech. Sgts. Ryan Estes and Austin Parrent, Staff Sgt. Michael Martinez, and Senior Airmen Jacob Bateman and Zadok Dean III; and sensor operators Staff Sgts. Samuel Mayfield and Omar Diaz. READ MORE...

With over 13,000 members internationally, the Association of Old Crows is an organization for individuals who have common interests in Electronic Warfare (EW), Electromagnetic Spectrum Management Operations, Cyber Electromagnetic Activities (CEMA), Information Operations (IO), and other information related capabilities. The Association of Old Crows provides a means of connecting members and organizations nationally and internationally across government, defense, industry, and academia to promote the exchange of ideas and information, and provides a platform to recognize advances and contributions in these fields.